|Rosebush is a scattered
community centred on the village of Rosebush
itself, one mile north of Maenclochog in
The village owes its origins
to the large slate quarries immediately to the
north on the slopes of the Preseli Hills.
Housing for the quarrymen forms a central
feature of the village - the Terrace. With the
construction of the Maenclochog Railway, linking
the quarries with the main line railway at
Clunderwen, the village became a focal point for
services in the upland area north of Maenclochog.
It continues to act as such for a mixed
population working in agriculture and in nearby
towns of Fishguard, Haverfordwest and Cardigan.
The Preseli Hotel and
'pleasure gardens' with fish ponds, built in the
late 1870s in an attempt to attract tourists on
the railway, still survive. The hotel is now
generally known as Tafarn Sinc, due to the
materials used in its construction - corrugated
galvanised iron - and the fish ponds are a
feature of the nearby Rosebush Caravan Park.
Tafarn Sinc was built in 1876,
when the railway was opened from Clunderwen to
Rosebush. It was built as an Hotel, and was
called the 'Precelly Hotel'. In 1992 it was
closed, it was in a bad state of repair, and the
brewery who owned it, decided to sell it as a
site suitable for building. It was bought by
locals, Brian and Brenda Llewelyn, for £18,000.
It was refurbished and re-named, 'Tafarn Sinc
Preseli'. This pub has featured prominently in
the historic and social life of the area, and
its success today is due to the fact that this
unique establishment is alive to the happy sound
of the Welsh language.
Slate quarrying has long since
ceased but tourism is once again at the heart of
the village economy.